Indian domestic calendar to begin in September; Challenger Trophy returns for women

The BCCI has announced the calendar for the Indian domestic cricket season 2024-25, with the Duleep Trophy being the first to kick off on September 5 in Anantapur. As reported earlier, the Ranji Trophy will now be played in two legs, with a window given for white-ball competitions.

The Ranji Trophy final is set to be held in March 2025. Apart from this, the BCCI has also revealed that they will be testing a new points system in the CK Nayudu Trophy (U-23 cricket). “This will see points awarded for batting and bowling skills in the first innings, as well as points for achieving a first innings lead or an overall win,” a BCCI statement said.

The BCCI also added that it may be introduced in the Ranji Trophy later after evaluation. The toss will also be abolished in the tournament and the visiting team will get a chance to choose what they want to do.

The Syed Mushtaq Ali (T20 tournament) will now be played between November and December, followed right after by the Vijay Hazare Trophy which will begin in December and end in January before the Ranji Trophy resumes

Challenger Trophy returns for women For women’s cricket, the Challenger Trophy, where teams are selected by selectors, comes as a significant addition. The Challenger Trophy was last played in 2021-22 in the ODI format and in 2022-23 in the T20 format. The multi-day tournament which was reintroduced in 2023-24 in the zonal format will now be played as the Challenger Trophy instead.