England look to free break

Josh Hazlewood suggested a possible manipulation of the net run rate to knock England out of the group-stage, causing such a furore that a large part of Matthew Mott’s press conference ahead of the Oman game was focused on the Australian’s comments. Mott admitted that England could only take it as a joke and focus on the games ahead.

Going into the World Cup as favourites, England suffered early defeats, resulting in a tense qualification situation. An early rain against Scotland and a 36-run loss to Australia, as well as a poor NRR of -1.80 have made progress difficult. However, it’s too early to say that it’s not too bad for England as Oman and Namibia are two of their opponents and they will be hoping to secure two big wins.

Oman haven’t won any of the three matches they have played before this match. A crushing defeat to Scotland has knocked them out of the tournament, chasing down 151 in just 13.1 overs. However, personal glory and the chance to pull off an upset against the defending champions will be the motivating factors.

When: England vs Oman, 7:00 pm GMT (June 13), 3:00 pm local time, 00:30 am IST (June 14)

What to expect: The last two matches at this venue saw both Scotland and Australia save a lot of overs in their chases, leading to good pitches for batting.


After the loss to Australia, Reece Topley is set to be included in the XI in place of Mark Wood, who has failed to take a single wicket in the first two matches. No other changes are expected in the XI.

Probable XI: Phil Salt, Jos Buttler (c/wk), Will Jacks, Jonny Bairstow, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Jofra Archer, Adil Rashid, Reece Topley


Pratik Athawale and Ayan Khan performed well with the bat for Oman, who managed to score 150 runs against Scotland, but the rest of the batsmen failed to perform well for the Gulf country. The bowlers were good against Namibia and for more than 10 overs against Australia.

Probable XI: Kashyap Prajapati, Pratik Athawale (wk), Naseem Kushi, Aqib Ilyas (c), Zeeshan Maqsood, Ayan Khan, Khalid Kail, Naseem Kushi, Mehran Khan, Shakeel Ahmed, Kalimullah, Bilal Khan